In closing I would like to thank the referees who worked so hard at the meeting and afterward to review the papers, and thus permitted the timely production of this volume: G. Atkinson, J. Birn, J. Büchner, D. Burgess, S. Cowley, E. Friis-Christensen, H. Funsten, H. Kawano, K. Khurana, J. King, E. Kirsch, D. Knipp, R. Lin, M. Lockwood, J. Luhmann, A. Lui, D. Mitchell, T. Moretto, T. Mukai, H. Opgenoorth, G. Parks, S. Petrinec, T. Phan, C. Russell, J. Safránková, I. Sandahl, T. Sanderson, P. Song, and T. Terasawa.

Last but not least, I would like to thank my own staff at UCLA, in particular Chris Casler, Anita  Hu, Ki Hwan Lee, Anne McGlynn, Nina Pereira, Bruce  Rezin, Richard Sadakane and Sophie Wong who assisted me greatly both prior to the conference and after it. All this made my job much easier.

Finally we wish to thank Joel Fedder of George Mason University, Steve Slinker of the Naval Research Laboratory, and John Lyon of Dartmouth University who provided the magnetospheric MHD simulation used as a logo for the CDROM. The simulation shows the mass density of plasma and selected magnetic field lines in the noon-midnight meridian under northward IMF conditions.

C. T. Russell

Institute of Geophysics and Planetary Physics

University of California, Los Angeles

September, 1997